Beryllium treated Sapphires

ShoppingTelly

Help Support ShoppingTelly:

Sapphireblue

Registered Shopper
Hello all,

I came across this forum a few weeks ago and enjoy reading the threads!
I have not read all the theads. This may be old news but it worth highligting.

2004 until Jan 2007, I purchase quite a lot of jewellery from Gem TV.
I bought “precision cut” Ceylon Blue Sapphire and Padparadscha Sapphires. I was led to believe that the consignment Padparadscha was obtained by Gems TV consisted of 5 year personal collection. The Ceylon Sapphires were best you could buy!

Some of the comments in this forum about sapphires started to make me feel very worried. I am not a Gem expert and your comments about sapphires treated with Beryllium was alarming.

I wrote to Gems TV a few days ago. This is part of the response I received.

Nearly all our gemstones that we feature are treated and heat treatment is the most common. We advise that all our Padparadscha sapphires will be heat treated with a Beryllium source – usually Chrysoberyl. This treatment is permanent and penetrates through the stone to the core, once done there is no visible differences between a treated stone and a natural sapphire. Without this treatment Padparadscha sapphire would not be available on a commercial level.
As the sapphires are usually treated before we buy them in we cannot then differentiate between treated and natural stones without it being tested. We therefore state all stones are treated. Due to a change of trading rules from the Jewellery association in Thailand in 2007 we have to call a treated Padparadscha sapphire as “coloured”, the changed name reflects the same description that you would get if the stone has been valued or been tested in a laboratory. The price advertised on screen will reflect that the stone is a treated sapphire.

My purchases were not made for investment; I liked the jewellery. I just feel that I have been misled.

Sapphireblue
:sad: