Question about windowed stones.

ShoppingTelly

Help Support ShoppingTelly:

meerkat

Registered Shopper
I now look very closely at gems after reading the comments on here, so thanks for making me a more discerning buyer. :wink2:

Regarding windows, is it just the head on view of a gem where one shouldn't be able to see straight through, or should it be all angles that reflect as much of the available light back, because I have seen some tanzanite this week which looks okay until it is tilted, then I can see flesh. Hope that makes sense!

Many thanks.

Meerkat, I think when you can see through the gem at an angle it is called a "tilt window", which is not the same as a window per se. It is only when you can see through the gem straight on that it's a complete no-no. However I'm not an expert, so I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong.

I have noticed that, while many of the gemstones at Rocks & Co tend to be badly cut, most of the AAA tanzanites (with a few notable exceptions) seem to be OK.

Thanks MM...well that rules about 90% of Rocks stuff out then!! I will look up tilt window when I have a minute.

Have prices suddenly gone down or am I hallucinating? lol

Have prices suddenly gone down or am I hallucinating? lol

Yes, I think you might well be right. Their prices had gone way over the top, and they probably weren't selling anything - it would be good to think that they have reconnected with reality!

That's a great article and I've used some of the pictures on here before when explaining windows and extinction.