The 'old days'

ShoppingTelly

Help Support ShoppingTelly:

Hillary

Registered Shopper
We have recently moved house, relocating to a much smaller one. Clearing out the barn and attics in our old house, I found 2 paintings of the Maasai I bought from situps ages ago. One is of a lady and the other is of hunters coming towards you through a heat haze. I had forgotten how good they both are, as good as the ones we bought at the Maasai Cultural Centre when we were out there a while ago. We have put them on the well of our stairs. It has been a serendipity moment, all the colours in the paintings match the gold and apricot of the landing and stairs. At the house warming party they were greately admired. It brought home to me, the smashing little bargains you used to be able to get on bid/pricedrop. I wouldn't give tuppence for the paintings, prints and figurines they have these days.

I'm no art expert but even with my untrained eye I can appreciate a nice painting, something I haven't seen on Bid in a long time. I must try and contact Lisa Brash and get some tips, she is an art expert.

I have to be honest (where have you heard that before?) but I was half expecting that Banksy mural that disappeared from a London shop wall to turn up on Bid in a mega, mega, megadrop. Well, at least a 'limited' edition print of it anyway.

With art, if you like it, you like it and you don't have to justify yourself to anyone. Just because something costs millions doesn't mean you have to like. Van Gogh's Sunflowers goes for mega money, but personally l cannot see anything special about! Likewise, because something is cheap doesn't make it bad. lt's all about personal taste. That said, l really struggle to understand how anyone likes those twee Kinkade abominations or those dreadful animal ones knocked out by Stephen Gayford. l often wonder how bad someone's front room would have to look for those to fit in?????