Random musings and general banter.

ShoppingTelly

Help Support ShoppingTelly:

I do laugh when they make the Thermospot sound like it’s new Technology.

But pans including Thermospot were around in the days of Greg and Max and Annette Baker Malpas

Although it's no doubt been a good marketing thing for them, I'd love to know what % of Tefal pan owners actually use it :) I suspect quite a low %.

I have to admit I've bought a few Tefal pans over the years but have never (and I mean never) used the thermo spot :) not saying it doesn't do what it's supposed to and might be useful for others, I've just never had a need to and no, I'm not a culinary expert!

Yeah it's back to this thing of convincing us why we need these specific pans, so they'll lay it on thick about struggling to find pans in their cluttered cupboards, how the thermo spot saved them spoiling a £100 steak etc etc. So transparent.

And you've hit the nail on the head. Whilst things like non-stick might save the rubbish cook compared to non non-stick pans, if you struggle with the basics cooking wise then different cooking pans and utensils won't make much if any difference.

If you have a good quality steak for example, all I do is put it in a little oil over a medium heat and turn it every 2-3 mins until it's done to my liking. I reckon I could do this in a £10 pan or a £100 pan and the steak would be just as enjoyable, because the 'taste' is coming from the steak, nowt to do with the pan :) even all this talk of cold spots etc, if you manage the food whilst it's in the pan (e.g. turn and/or stir now and again) it'll come out just fine, trust me :)

I never use the the thermo spot either, depending what i'm cooking will depend on the heat i'm using, some low and slow, some high and fast, how does the thermos spot know when it's at the temp i'm needing for my cooking style, it doesn't, just like we all like our food differently, some like well and some like things rare.