Converting PDF Files to Word - HELP!!

ShoppingTelly

Help Support ShoppingTelly:

Pinkpussycat

Meeoow....
I'm stuck doing this and have driven myself potty all morning. :doh: I have been sent a job reference for a friend to complete and want to fill it in online using Word so that it is as neat as possible (MS has ruined my handwriting :sad:) and then email it. I have scanned the document (which is in the form of a spreadsheet) into my pc as a pdf and then used http://www.pdfonline.com/pdf-to-word-converter/ to convert to Word. :whew: So far so good but I cannot add text to the bliddy thing which is the whole point of doing it. :headbang: When I downloaded the converted doc I see the file is now saved as xxxxxx.rtf and I assume it should be a file ending xxxx.doc so how can I get this to work so that I can add text/edit please?? Thankyou clever people. Sue xxx

Sue - I'm no expert on this and I hate .pdf's! I export .rtf's all the time from Access and simply do a "save as" .doc. You can normally edit an .rft, but I wondered if you need to change the Properties, it may be set as "read only"? Sorry if I'm teaching you to suck eggs but right-click on the closed document name and see if "read only" is selected.

Knowing .pdf's it's probably not as simple as this!

Hi Frazzled :hi: Thanks for the suggestion hon, I looked at properties and the read only box wasn't checked so it can't be that which is preventing me editing the bliddy thing...I'm getting really ratty with it now!! :grin:

Sue,

I had a dummy run through the process and when it came up as .rft (rich text format) it wouldn't let me edit it until I clicked on Enable Editing on the bar above within Word (2010).

I've just tried editing a pdf file, although it wasn't a form so it probably won't work for you - but you never know.

I simply copied the pdf file by highlighting the contents with the mouse and then pasted it into a new Word document. I was then able to change the text.