GemTV Diamonds

ShoppingTelly

Help Support ShoppingTelly:

Pauli

Registered Shopper
This is not a post to knock Gems TV for the sake of it, honest. However, this issue has been eating away at me for several months.

Earlier this year I bought a pair of 1 carat diamond 9K gold earrings from GemsTV. They were sold as G-H in colour I1-I2 in clarity. When I viewed them through the plastic bags when they were delivered they appear to sparkle, or I wouldn’t have kept them. I thought I’d got a bargain. More fool me. I have worn them maybe twice in all those months, thinking I’d keep them for best. However, I’ve noticed that over time they have become brown and dead. There is no sparkle. Nothing! They are just brown dull diamonds. I’m actually embarrassed to wear the earrings and admit they are diamonds! Is this a phenomenon with diamonds? Do they lose their colour, clarity over time? Admittedly, I have never heard of this happening, but I am no gem expert.

By contrast, diamonds I’ve bought from TJC over the years look and sparkle like diamonds, even in their Classic range . For instance, a few months ago I bought a diamond pendant and stud earrings from TJC, admittedly in a lower carat weight from their NY 14K range, and I haven’t taken them off since . The diamonds sparkle, they are white and clean – at least to the naked eye. When compared with my Gems earrings the differene in quality is unmistakeable. With my GEMS purchase I feel I’ve wasted a lot of money for something I won’t readily wear – if ever. I feel as if I’ve been had.

While I’ve had some great designs from Gems TV and their sister channels over the years, especially in their Tookalon range, I will not be buying any diamond items from them again. I can’t afford to risk it.

Pauli

Hi Pauli... if they've hardly been worn maybe the diamonds have just collected dust and need a good wash? In my experience, Gems sell pretty poor quality diamonds but having said that I've had a few duds from TJC.