What caused the sudden drop in sales?

ShoppingTelly

Help Support ShoppingTelly:

The "unexpected" bit makes me laugh! Now I'm no business expert, far from it, but even I could see that offering Poundland products for ten times the price and then some, and preventing sales altogether was not going to work! They would have been better off scrapping Price Drop altogether and using the money saved to buy decent stock, or to offer proper reductions on postage, perhaps they could have introduced a multibuy system that worked on everything instead of selected items that had to be identical.

I think the main problem occurred by switching to the Shop at Bid format, while still having the same products and presenters.

When you had the old Bid format, you could at least pretend the price was falling, that there was limited quantity, that people were getting a bargain etc. When they switched format and that novelty element vanished, you just had amateurish presenters trying to sell poundland products. When compared with QVC or Ideal World, the Shop at Bid format basically just emphasised quite how bad the products and presenters were.

(That and the last switch to Price Drop. I still think to this day that is one of the most insane things I've ever seen. A shopping channel which shows you the product, shows you the price, has the product in stock - and then refuses to sell it to you when you call up and buy).

ANY company whole sell tat and then lump a postage charge of £7.99 plus call charges, yet still ended up in millions of debt have been doing something far wrong somewhere or the money/profit wasn't going where it should have been, ie back into the company!!! Someone has some answering to do and I think that someone's wallet is bulging as I type this :wonder: