teachers gifts

ShoppingTelly

Help Support ShoppingTelly:

In a previous life I was a university lecturer and I when this issue came up I politely declined any gifts offered to me until the end of the academic year for fear of a conflict of interests arising. I seem to recall my union (or it might have been the institution I worked for) debating whether this should become standard practice for staff who have a role in assessing students' work.

I understand the desire to thank those who have helped - my son started school in Sept and I am grateful to a couple of teachers in particular who are caring for him so well - but a card with heartfelt words to that effect is what I'd be giving, and what I personally would prefer to receive. I didn't go into my job for money or expensive gifts - the knowledge that you've helped someone achieve their best academically is far more profound. Interestingly though, it was always the students who came from the more de-privileged backgrounds who offered gifts and were generally far more grateful for the help I'd provided.

Last edited:
For those QVC buyers who have a third home, maybe you could give the teacher the third home so she has a second home - then she'll be part of the QVC family :sun: to the top of the class you go!

I'm a teacher, although I no longer have a class (as I'm a SENCo which means I have a managerial position and work throughout the school.) When I was in the classroom I did get gifts at Christmas and at the end of the school year. I did appreciate the kindness of the parents and children, whether the gift was something that was shop bought or homemade. But if anyone had bought me something like the presenters suggest on QVC I'd have been mortified because of the cost. Who in their right mind would spend £25 plus on a teacher?

To be honest, the thing that I valued more than the gifts was a heartfelt 'thank you' which costs nothing ...... and the same applies in my current position.